Russia Announces Sanctions Against Biden, Blinken, Other Top Officials


Russia has announced sanctions against U. S. President Joe Biden, Secretary of State Antony Blinken, and a list of other top-ranking U.S. officials and well-known American figures in a tit-for-tat exchange with the West amid the ongoing war in Ukraine.

In a statement Tuesday, the Russian Foreign Ministry said that, in response to unprecedented U. S. sanctions against Russia, a list of Americans will be “included in the Russian ‘stop list’ on a reciprocal basis as of March 15 of this year,” according to the statement translated by Interfax.

The list of Americans also includes Defense Secretary Lloyd Austin, national security adviser Jake Sullivan, White House press secretary Jen Psaki, Joint Chiefs of Staff Mark Milley, CIA Director William Burns, Administrator of the United States Agency for International Development Samantha Power, and others.

The announcement comes in response to sanctions against Russian financial systems and individuals in Russian President Vladimir Putin’s inner circle the United States put in place following the Russian invasion of Ukraine on Feb. 25.

The United States has also an… (Read more)

Comments are closed.