GOP Senators ‘Still Discussing’ Which States, If Any, They Will Object To During Election Certification


A group of Republican senators led by Ted Cruz are “still discussing” which states, if any, they will object to during the Jan. 6 certification of the presidential election results, with sources telling Fox News that “no conclusions” have been reached yet.

Cruz, R-Texas, and the group — which includes Republican Sens. Marsha Blackburn of Tennessee; Mike Braun of Indiana; Steve Daines of Montana; Bill Hagerty of Tennessee; Ron Johnson of Wisconsin; John Kennedy of Louisiana; James Lankford of Oklahoma; Cynthia Lummis of Wyoming; Roger Marshall of Kansas, and Tommy Tuberville of Alabama — said over the weekend they would object to the certification unless there was an emergency 10-day audit of the results by an electoral commission.

But as of Monday, a source familiar told Fox News that discussions are ongoing. Another source told Fox News that the senators have been engaged in numerous phone calls and conference calls, but said that “no conclusions” had been reached.

Republicans in the House of Representatives have begun putting pressure on Republicans in the upper chamber of Congress to object to election results in at least three states in an effort to impact the outcome of the presidential race – which was called, in November, in favor of President-elect Joe Biden.

House Republican sources told Fox News Sunday that there is a growing concern that the Republican senators will not object to enough states to make a difference in the outcome of the 2020 presidential election, which the Electoral College has decided in favor of Biden.

Two House Republican officials told Fox News that more than 100 GOP House members will object to the election results in Arizona, Georgia, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Nevada and Wisconsin.

“If the Republican senators don’t object to enough states, the entire effort on Jan. 6 is worthless,” a House Republican official told Fox News. “To have any chance of impacting the outcome of the 2020 election, the Republican senators must join Republican House members in objecting at least three states and ideally all six states – Arizona, Georgia, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Nevada and Wisconsin.

“If Republican senators only object to one state, Joe Biden will undoubtedly secure enough electoral votes to become president,” the official continued, adding that “the pressure really is on the Republican senators like Ted Cruz to join House Republicans here.”

“If they don’t, it will be a great disappointment to the president, their constituents, and ensure a Joe Biden victory,” the official said.

Last month, Sen. Josh Hawley, R-Mo., became the first Republican senator to commit to objecting to the election results, and specifically said he would do so in at least one state – Pennsylvania.

Sponsored Links

The group led by Cruz has yet to explicitly commit to objecting to any specific state, and instead calle… (Read more)

Comments are closed.