Law & Order

Every Member Of Pelosi’s Jan. 6 Select Committee Voted To Impeach Trump, Most Said He Incited Capitol Incursion


When Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) announced Democrats to serve on her Select Committee to Investigate the January 6th Attack on the United States Capitol on July 1, she told a news conference that the panel’s purpose was “to seek and to find the truth. We want to do so in the most patriotic and nonpartisan way, so the American people have confidence in the results.”

After Pelosi rejected two of House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy’s five Republican picks to serve on the select committee, whose first hearing was on July 27, he claimed “this panel has lost all legitimacy and credibility.”

Pelosi accused Rep. Jim Jordan of Ohio and Rep. Jim Banks of Indiana of “statements and actions” that would undermine “the integrity of the investigation,” presumably including their votes against creating the committee.

In response, Jordan and Banks accused Pelosi of rejecting them because she knew they would demand answers to why the U. S. Capitol Police, who are under her control, were not prepared for the Jan. 6 breach of the Capitol despite being warned days ahead of time that trouble was brewing.

McCarthy withdrew all five of his nominees, so Pelosi added Rep. Adam Kinzinger (R-Ill.) as the second and last member of the panel, joining Rep. Liz Cheney (R-Wyo.). Both Cheney and Kinzinger voted to impeach Trump following the riot.

All of the seven Democrats on the select committee also voted to impeach Trump a week after the Jan. 6 breach and to hold him responsible for the day’s events.

That vote was the second to impeach Trump for several of the panel members, including the chairman, Rep. Bennie Thompson (D-Miss.). Thompson also sued Trump after the Capitol incursion, claiming he incited it.

Other select committee Democrats are Rep. Elaine Luria of Virginia, Rep. Jamie Raskin of Maryland, Rep. Stephanie Murphy of Florida, Rep. Pete Aquilar of California, Rep. Adam Schiff of California, and Rep. Zoe Lofgren of Califo… (Read more)

Sponsored Links

Comments are closed.