Politics

Democrats React After AG Barr Refuses to Comply With Subpoena

By

Democrats in the U.S. House of Representatives on Monday took a step toward citing Attorney General William Barr for contempt of Congress for failing to hand over Special Counsel Robert Mueller’s full unredacted report on his Russia investigation.

The Democrat-run House Judiciary Committee issued a report citing Barr, an appointee of President Donald Trump, for contempt after a subpoena deadline for Barr to produce the full report and underlying evidence had expired at 9 a.m. EDT (1300 GMT).

The committee was due to meet on Wednesday at 10 a.m. EDT (1400 GMT) to consider adopting the report. If it does, then the full House would vote on holding Barr in contempt of Congress, according to a congressional aide.

The report calls on House Speaker Nancy Pelosi to take “all appropriate action” to enforce a subpoena issued by committee Chairman Jerrold Nadler, a Democrat, for the full Mueller report on April 19.

Some Democrats have called on Barr to resign, accusing him of protecting Trump by effectively clearing the president of criminal obstruction of justice and excusing actions viewed by them as evidence of misconduct. Pelosi has charged that the attorney general lied to Congress, adding: “That’s a crime.”

Nadler’s committee views the full Mueller report as vital to its own corruption and obstruction of justice investigation of Trump. The chairs of five other House committees investigating the president have also called for its release.

The Mueller report details extensive contacts between Trump’s 2016 campaign but did not find that there was a conspiracy between Moscow and the campaign. The report also describes actions Trump took to try to impede Mueller’s investigation.

Barr released a redacted version of the report on April 18.

Comments are closed.