China Sanctions Trump Officials Minutes After Biden Becomes President


China’s Foreign Ministry on Wednesday imposed sanctions on 28 individuals associated with the administration of U. S. President Donald Trump for allegedly violating Chinese sovereignty.

“China has decided to sanction 28 persons who have seriously violated China’s sovereignty and who have been mainly responsible for such U. S. moves on China-related issues,” China’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced in a statement posted to its official website on January 20.

“These individuals and their immediate family members are prohibited from entering the mainland [China], Hong Kong and Macao of China. They and companies and institutions associated with them are also restricted from doing business with China,” the statement read.

The sanctioned individuals include former members of Trump’s administration, including Secretary of State Michael R. Pompeo; Director of Trade and Manufacturing Policy Peter K. Navarro; National Security Advisor Robert C. O’Brien; Assistant Secretary of State for the Bureau of East Asian and Pacific Affairs David R. Stilwell; Deputy National Security Advisor Matthew Pottinger; Secretary of Health and Human Services Alex M. Azar II; Under Secretary of State for Economic Growth, Energy, and the Environment Keith J. Krach; U. S. Ambassador to the U.N. Kelly D. K. Craft; U.S. National Security Advisor John R. Bolton; and White House Chief Strategist Stephen K. Bannon.

China’s foreign ministry accused the sanctioned individuals of promoting “anti-China” policies over the past four years while serving in Trump’s administration. President Trump’s term in office officially ended January 20 at noon, moments before China announced the sanctions on his policy advisors.

“Over the past few years, some anti-China politicians in the United Stat… (Read more)

Comments are closed.